It can be imagined that throughout human history, countless brilliant and ordinary minds have pondered the question of the meaning of life. I too am troubled by it at times, but I also find moments of joy in the process. Because I believe it is an inherent trait of human intelligence. Every mature mind feels compelled or inclined to grapple with this question. From this perspective, any attempts to dissuade someone from contemplating it or to provide direct answers to spare them from the anguish of introspection are unnecessary. The drawbacks of resisting the contemplation of life’s meaning far outweigh the potential emptiness of the result. Reflecting on the meaning of life is a test of the intellect but also an opportunity for intellectual maturity and personal independence. It allows the intellect to expand and showcase its uniqueness.

For me personally, I like to use the famous quote attributed to Steve Jobs as an annotation:

“Keep looking, don’t settle.”

When pondering the question of life’s meaning, I am perplexed and sometimes ignorant, but never in despair. Searching for the meaning of life is like searching for the fullest ear of wheat in an endless wheat field. While we can’t guarantee finding the fullest ear among all the wheat, by occasionally picking, we might find something better. At the end of life, holding the fullest ear of wheat we found throughout our journey, whether it goes with us to the grave or is given to others, leaves us content. Because that fullest ear of wheat from a lifetime is the best reward.

Let me share the most significant ear of wheat I’ve picked up on my limited journey so far:

Firstly, meaning can be defined. The universe is infinitely vast, but if we limit ourselves to the present moment and our immediate surroundings, meaning can manifest itself. In love, in family, in oneself, in academia, art, industry, in humanity, in nature… Even with the broadest of definitions, life isn’t empty, and meaning naturally emerges, inspiring us to seek it. So why fixate on the so-called “ultimate meaning”?

More importantly, for many people, including myself, instead of asking, “What is the meaning of life?” it’s better to ask, “What is the experience of meaning?” and take it a step further, “How do you experience ‘having meaning in life’?” These questions, while similar, lead to vastly different answers. While I still can’t definitively say what the meaning of life is, I can somewhat confidently say that many people have never experienced ‘having meaning in life.’ What many people seek is simply the experience of ‘having meaning in life,’ and there’s no need to prescribe a singular meaning to them. Meaning isn’t a rigid definition or concept; it flows through our experiences. Relative to the elusive and hard-to-pin-down concept, our experiences can often be so powerful that they feel real. Therefore, to gain the experience of ‘having meaning in life,’ I believe we can at least ‘create’ and ‘discover.’

Zhou Guoping, when discussing Saint-Exupéry’s views on meaning, once wrote, “Truth is not an immediate starting point but a goal that requires arduous efforts to approach.” I strongly agree. Meaning, like the truth in this statement, isn’t achieved instantly but through recognizing a goal, overcoming challenges, and enduring setbacks. In such a process, meaning is ‘created.’ To use an analogy, an eager traveler crawls through a desert, eventually finding a well that saves their life. A wealthy person, full and content, faced with a feast, has no appetite and merely takes a few bites. Even though the feast is valuable, the meaning the wealthy person gains from their meal is far less than what the traveler experiences through the effort of finding water.

Arriving in the polar regions, gazing at the timeless starry sky, witnessing the ethereal beauty of the aurora dancing in the polar night, the vast and icy expanse of space, reindeer migrating, and swordfish swimming. Where is the meaning? We enter this environment, feel the awe of the starry sky, witness the graceful beauty of the aurora, and marvel at life’s persistent rhythm in the extreme cold. Meaning is discovered through our observations and insights. Many people, in such moments, find it breathtaking and immensely satisfying. These individuals ‘discover’ the meaning of life through these experiences.

Therefore, in our limited time and space, defining what matters to us, setting boundaries for meaning, setting clear goals, and then striving for them while keeping an open mind and using our intellect to contemplate and discover the meaning inherent in things. I believe this is the only way to ensure the experience of ‘having meaning in life.’ Fortunately, this is something that every physically and mentally healthy, intellectually mature person can do.

This is the most significant ear of wheat I’ve picked up so far. So, even though there are already so many answers, I couldn’t resist sharing my thoughts. But, as I’ve said before: Keep looking, don’t settle. There is still incredibly anticipated meaning in the unknown. From the beginning of human existence, when we were primitive and struggling for survival, who would have imagined the thriving civilization we have today? In the vast expanse of time, who could have foreseen the diversity and prosperity of life on this planet billions of years later? Those of us capable of contemplating and feeling ’the meaning of life’ have an opportunity, perhaps one that has never been possessed before. We have the chance to understand the vastness of the universe, even to realize our own broader and ultimate meaning. We have the chance to create infinite possibilities. Even if no one else knows, we can prove it to ourselves. Even if in the end, everything returns to nothingness, we once pursued it passionately. The symphony of this world for a brief moment is so stirring, and the infinite brilliance of possibilities is itself a meaningful and grand tableau. Born into this, able to partially understand and possess it, how can we say there is no meaning?

In conclusion, I wish those who contemplate and pursue the meaning of life, at the end of their journey, or even just at a moment in their lives, can hold that fullest ear of wheat without regrets.

可以想见,人类历史中,无数杰出的、平凡的头脑,都严肃思索过人生意义的问题。我同样为之苦恼,却亦时而乐在其中。因为我想,这是人类智性所致。但凡一个成熟的心智,都有被强制拽入这个问题的冲动或倾向。从这个层面说,所有试图告诫题主切莫思考的,或者试图直接提供答案以图帮助题主免于思索之苦的,实为都不必要了。抗拒思考人生意义的坏处,比思考后哪怕得到一个虚无的结果更甚。思考人生意义,是心智的考验,但也是思想成熟、人格独立的契机。它更使智性伸展,其独特性得以彰显。

于我个人,喜欢用乔布斯广为流传的一句:

“Keep looking, don’t settle.”

作为注解。在思考人生意义这个问题时,我困惑、无知,但不绝望。寻找人生的意义,就如同在无垠的麦田里寻找最饱满的麦穗。尽管无法确保找到所有麦子中最饱满的一颗,但若时而摘取,便总可能找到更好的。于人生终了,手握一生中寻找到的最饱满的麦穗,不论它随我入土,或被赠予他人,我都已满足。因为手中握住的一生中最饱满的麦穗,便是对我最好的褒奖。

不妨说说我有限的人生到此,手中握着的那颗麦穗吧。

首先,意义是可以被界定的。宇宙极无边。而若局限于此时此刻,周身环境,意义便可以显现。于爱人,于家人,于自己,于学术、艺术、工业,于人类、自然……哪怕一点点最宽泛的界定,生命就不会虚无,意义便自然显现,引人乐于追寻。而为何要纠结于所谓的“终极意义”呢?

更重要的,对很多人,包括我来说,与其问:“人生的意义是什么?”,不如问:“意义的体验是什么?”,更进一步问:“如何获得‘拥有人生意义’的体验?”(知乎有很多“体验”体的问题,为何不能用于此处呢?)这样,问题虽相似,但回答已经可以大为不同。尽管我仍不能断定,人生的意义是什么,但我可以稍确信地说:很多人从没有“拥有人生意义”的体验。而很多人追求的,也只是“拥有人生意义”的这种体验罢了,犯不着规定一个人生意义给他们。意义不是僵死的定义和概念,而是在物我之间流动的体验。相对于虚无缥缈难以捕捉的概念,我们的体验,往往可以如此强烈以至于真实。因此,要获得“拥有人生意义”的体验,我觉得,至少可以去“创造”,去“发现”。

周国平写关于圣埃克苏佩里的意义观时曾经写道,“真理不是现成的出发点,而是千辛万苦要靠近的目标。”我深以为然。意义,就好比这句话中的真理,并非一蹴而就,而是需要认准目标,克服困难,历经波折。这样的过程中,意义才被“创造”出来。借用这个观点打一个比喻。一个饥渴的旅人,在沙漠中爬行,最终找到水井,挽救了自己的生命。而酒足饭饱的富人,面对珍馐,再无胃口,胡乱吃几口了事。纵然珍馐万钱,富人饮食收获的意义,也远不及旅人为了喝水而付出努力所获得的意义。

来到极地,看亘古如斯的星空,看极地经世流动的极光,冰冷广漠的空间,麋鹿在迁徙,剑鱼在游弋。意义又何在?我们走入其间,领会到星空的震撼人心,观看到极光轻盈梦幻的美丽,感叹着生命在严寒中澎湃不息的律动。意义从我们的观察与领悟中被发现。多少人在此情此景中,叹为观止,无比满足。这些人借此“发现”了人生意义。

所以,在有限的时空,明确自己在意的事物,为意义划定界限,明确目标,再去努力、去拼搏,同时自然地开放心扉,运用心智,去思考和发现事物展现的意义。我想,这是唯一能够确保获得人生意义的体验的方法。开心的是,这也是每个身心健康、心智成熟的人能够做到的方法。

这就是我目前拾到的最大的一颗麦穗吧,因此尽管已经有如此众多的答案,也忍不住将我的想法分享。但我也说过:Keep looking, don’t settle. 仍有无比令人期待的意义存在于未知。人类诞生伊始,茹毛饮血,又是否有人想到过今日文明昌盛如此。亘古洪荒,又有谁人知道,亿万年后的星球生命的多样和繁盛?能够思考和感受“人生的意义”的我们,拥有了一个机会,一个之前可能从来没有被拥有的机会。我们有机会去理解宇宙的虚无,甚至实现自身的更为广大、终极的意义,有机会去创造无限的可能。哪怕可能无人知晓,我们证明给自己。哪怕最终一切归于虚无,我们曾经热烈追求。这世界一刻的交响,都如此激荡人心,这无尽灿烂的可能性,本身就是充满意义的波澜壮阔的图景。生于其中,亦能部分认识、部分拥有,又怎能说没有意义?

最后祝愿,那些思索和追求人生意义的人,在人生的尽头,抑或哪怕仅仅在人生的某一刻,握着那一颗最饱满的麦穗,无怨无悔。